Contact Us

Main organiser

Carcinoma Society
of Malaysia

Institute for Medical Research

Diamond Sponsor




NPC 2011

International Association for Research on Epstein-Barr virus and Associated Diseases

Gordon NPC Conference 2020

National Cancer Society Malaysia

Member Login

Auditorium 1,
Level 5, Block D1,
National Institutes of Health (NIH Complex)
Ministry of Health Malaysia
No: 1, Jalan Setia Murni U13/52
Section U13, Setia Alam
40170 Shah Alam
Selangor, Malaysia - map
27th March 2019 (Wednesday)
Time: 8.30 am – 5.00 pm


Dear members and friends,

Nasopharyngeal carcinoma is a major cancer in the region which is strongly associated with Epstein-Barr Virus (EBV), a gamma-herpesvirus. The distinct geographical distribution of this cancer makes it a unique disease to study interactions between viral, immunological, dietary, environmental factors and host genetics in the development of cancer.

I am pleased to inform you that the 8th. NPC Research Day in conjunction with the Annual General Meeting of the Nasopharyngeal Carcinoma Society of Malaysia will be held at Auditorium 1, National Institutes of Health (NIH Complex), Ministry of Health Malaysia, Jalan Setia Murni U13/52, Section U13, Bandar Setia Alam, 40170 Shah Alam, Selangor on Wednesday 27th March 2019 at 8.30am. The event would include a virtual conference where international speakers from the United Kingdom, Switzerland, Sweden, United States and Indonesia would speak on various aspects of NPC. (Please refer here for details of the programme). There will be talks on epidemiological studies on genetic and non-genetic factors including the bacterial microbiome associated with this viral associated cancer. Viral and immunological aspects of infection as well as the development of therapeutic agents targeting EBV-associated diseases would also be covered. There will also be a plenary talk to highlight the gaps in knowledge which need to be addressed by research.

Registration for those who would be attending the meeting at the NIH complex is here. ( Groups of members who are unable to physically attend the meeting at the NIH complex but are interested to participate virtually, please e-mail me at npcrd2019vc@npcresearch.org )

I look forward to meeting you and your colleagues at the NPC Research Day.

Dr. Alan Khoo
Organizing Committee,
NPC Research Day


Invited speakers (virtual)

Professor Lawrence S. Young, Warwick Cancer Research Centre, University of Warwick, Warwick, United Kingdom. The future of NPC research: opportunities and challenges

Prof. Christian Münz, Institute of Experimental Immunology, University of Zurich, Zurich, Switzerland. Infection and immune control of oncogenic human gamma-herpesviruses

Dr Troy Messick, Wistar Institute, Philadelphia, PA, United States. Development of a Specific Inhibitor to Treat Epstein-Barr Virus-Associated Nasopharyngeal Carcinoma

Dr. Justine Debelius, Department of Medical Epidemiology and Biostatistics, Karolinska Institute, Stockholm, Sweden. The oral and nasopharyngeal microbiome in head and neck cancer

Dr. Jajah Fachiroh, Faculty of Medicine Universitas Gadjah Mada (UGM) Yogyakarta Indonesia. Epidemiology of nasopharyngeal carcinoma –incidence, genetic and non-genetic risks in South East Asia